Skip to content

ChatGPT alternative from Europe: 13 providers compared

KIplatz is one of 13 AI chats in this overview. Every statement comes from the page of the respective provider, with a date, and stands there without a verdict. Where a provider does not say something, it says so here. What matters to you is your decision.

From KIplatz to GPT4All, as of 22 September 2026

ProviderSeatWhere your questions are processedFreeCheapest paid planInput used for training (default)Sources in the answerRuns on your own deviceAdvertising
KIplatzAustria, Laakirchenon your own device and on the community's devices; the server in Vienna passes on and stores no questionsyes, without limitnonenoyes, under every answeryes, Windows 11; questions from any device via the websiteno
ChatGPT (OpenAI)USA, San Francisco; for Europe OpenAI Ireland, DublinUSA; Europe only for business and education customersyes, with limitsGo, 7.99 € a monthyes, can be switched offwith web searchnoyes, in Free and Go, since 18 August 2026 also in Austria
Claude (Anthropic)USA, San Francisco; for Europe Anthropic Ireland, DublinUSAyesPro, 20 $ a month, before taxyes, can be switched offwith web searchnono
Gemini (Google)USA, Mountain View; for Europe Google Ireland, Dublinworldwide; Europe only for business customersyesGoogle AI Plus, 4.99 € a monthyes, can be switched offpartlynoconversations are not used for advertising
Copilot (Microsoft)USA, Redmond; for Austria Microsoft Ireland, Dublinown region or USAyes, with limitsMicrosoft 365 Single, 10 € a monthyes, can be switched offyesnoyes
Vibe, formerly Le Chat (Mistral AI)France, ParisEurope, by defaultyes, with limitsPro, 14.99 € a monthyes, can be switched offwith web searchnoconversations are not used for advertising
Lumo (Proton)Switzerland, GenevaEuropeyes, with limitsPlus; price only visible in the browser on the provider's pagenowith web searchnono
IONOS GPT (IONOS)Germany, MontabaurGermanyuntil 30 September 2026, then 5 € a month5 € a monthnonot stated on the provider's pagenonot stated on the provider's page
DeepSeekChina, HangzhouChinayesnot stated on the provider's pageyes, can be switched offnot stated on the provider's pageapp no; the models can be run on your device with other programsno
OllamaUSA, Californiaon your own device; cloud models on requestyesPro, 20 $ a month, for cloud modelsnonot stated on the provider's pageyes, Windows, Mac, Linuxnot stated on the provider's page
LM Studio (Element Labs)USA, Delawareon your own device; cloud services on requestyesBionic+, 20 $ a monthnonot stated on the provider's pageyes, Windows, Mac, Linuxnot stated on the provider's page
Jan (Menlo Research)Singapore; team in Ho Chi Minh Cityon your own device; cloud models on requestyesnonenot stated on the provider's pagewith web searchyes, Windows, Mac, Linuxnot stated on the provider's page
GPT4All (Nomic)USA, Delawareon your own deviceyesnoneno; data donation only on requestyes, with your own documentsyes, Windows, Mac, Linuxnot stated on the provider's page

Prices as the providers showed them on their pages for Austria on 22 September 2026; dollar prices where there are no euro prices. For companies from the USA the contract for Europe is usually with an Irish subsidiary; processing still happens in the USA unless the provider states otherwise.

How this overview was made

Every cell comes from a page of the provider itself: pricing page, privacy policy, terms of use, help centre. Nothing comes from press articles or other people's comparison lists. If something is nowhere on the provider's page, it says "not stated" here, not our guess.

The row on KIplatz follows the same rules, with our privacy policy (German) and the page What never happens as evidence.

You measure the quality of the answers yourself

How good the answers are is best measured by everyone with their own questions: ask one at the top of our start page and the same one at another provider, and compare the sources under the answer.

Is a provider missing, or has a statement changed? Tell us via Contact or as a report in Build; we check it on the provider's page and add it with a date.

The rules for this comparison

Sourcedonly statements from the provider's own page, with address and date (below)
No verdictno grades, no adjectives; the overview names facts, the reader decides
Names onlyno third-party logos, no quotes from other people's advertising
About us tooour row follows the same rules, with Windows 11 as today's version
As of22 September 2026; changes are added with a date

Sources, all retrieved on 22 September 2026

ChatGPT: openai.com/policies/eu-terms-of-use, openai.com/policies/eu-privacy-policy, chatgpt.com/pricing, help.openai.com (articles 5722486, 9237897, 20001047, 9903489), openai.com/index/chatgpt-ads-expands-across-europe. Claude: anthropic.com/legal/consumer-terms, anthropic.com/legal/privacy, claude.com/pricing, claude.com/download, privacy.claude.com (articles 10023580, 7996890), support.claude.com (article 10684626), anthropic.com/news/claude-is-a-space-to-think. Gemini: policies.google.com/terms, policies.google.com/privacy, support.google.com/gemini (answers 13594961, 14143489, 13275745), gemini.google/subscriptions, docs.cloud.google.com/gemini/enterprise/docs/locations. Copilot: microsoft.com/de-at/servicesagreement, microsoft.com/en-us/privacy/privacystatement, microsoft.com/de-at/microsoft-365-copilot/pricing/individuals, support.microsoft.com/microsoft-copilot (Privacy FAQ, Privacy controls, Age limits, What is the Copilot app). Vibe: legal.mistral.ai/terms/data-processing-addendum, mistral.ai/pricing (euro), help.mistral.ai (articles 347629, 347617, 455207, 347633, 682992), legal.mistral.ai/terms/additional-terms, docs.mistral.ai/vibe. Lumo: proton.me/lumo/terms, proton.me/support/lumo-privacy, proton.me/lumo/pricing, proton.me/lumo/download, proton.me/blog/lumo-2, proton.me/lumo. IONOS GPT: ionos.de/impressum, ionos.de/office-loesungen/ki-assistent-kostenlos, ionos.de/hilfe/ki/gpt-ionos (end of the free version, FAQ, access, PWA), ionos.de/momentum/ionos-gpt. DeepSeek: cdn.deepseek.com/policies/en-US/deepseek-privacy-policy.html, cdn.deepseek.com/policies/en-US/deepseek-terms-of-use.html, api-docs.deepseek.com/news/news250115, github.com/deepseek-ai/DeepSeek-R1. Ollama: ollama.com/terms, ollama.com/privacy, ollama.com/pricing, ollama.com/download, docs.ollama.com/faq. LM Studio: lmstudio.ai/terms, lmstudio.ai/privacy, lmstudio.ai/pricing, lmstudio.ai/docs/app/system-requirements, lmstudio.ai/docs/app/offline. Jan: jan.ai/privacy, jan.ai/download, jan.ai/docs/desktop/privacy, jan.ai/docs/desktop/web-search, jan.ai/handbook/who/who-we-are, menlo.ai/terms. GPT4All: nomic.ai/gpt4all, nomic.ai/privacy, nomic.ai/terms-of-service, docs.gpt4all.io (LocalDocs, Settings), github.com/nomic-ai/gpt4all.

Read on What never happens · How KIplatz answers · FAQ

The one row you can check yourself

Ask KIplatz a question, without an account, and look at the sources under the answer. Then you know more than any table.